logo
Logo

Family Law You can Trust

Florida Weapon Violation Defense Law Firm

The right to bear arms is protected under the Second Amendment of the United States Constitution. However, Florida has restrictive laws that govern the possession and usage of weapons to safeguard the public from gun and weapon violence. Florida heavily regulates the sale, possession, and the use of firearms, ammunition, and specific weapons.


To lawfully carry a gun, it is essential to follow protocol to obtain a valid permit from the state. Some situations allow persons to carry guns without a permit. Examples are at your home, business, or when engaged in lawful hunting. The “Stand-Your-Ground” law permits homeowners and property owners to protect themselves with a firearm.


The criminal defense attorneys at Myers Law Group, P.A. defend the accused against all types of firearm and weapon allegations. As a former Prosecutor, Attorney Rachel D. Myers knows how the prosecution process works and can build the most innovative strategies based on her experience. We are a results-driven law firm that you can trust to defend your rights and your future aggressively.

Common Weapon Charges and Penalties in Florida are:

  • Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon is a 2nd-degree felony. Penalties can include up to 15 years in prison, 15 years of probation, and a fine of up to $10,000.
  • Allowing a minor under the age of 16 to access a firearm is a 2nd-degree misdemeanor. The penalties for this offense include up to 60 days in jail and fines up to $500.
  • The exhibition of a weapon in public is a 1st-degree misdemeanor. It is punishable by up to one year of jail, one year of probation, and a fine of up to $1,000.
  • Unlicensed carry and concealment of a firearm is a 3rd-degree felony. Penalties include up to five years in prison, five years of probation, and up to $5,000 in fines.
  • Possession or discharge of a firearm at a school-sponsored event is a 3rd-degree felony. The sentence for this crime is up to five years in prison, five years of probation, and up to $5,000 in fines.


In addition to firearms, the carry and concealment of dirks, metallic knuckles, billy clubs, tear gas guns, chemical weapons, and ballistic or self-propelled knives can result in weapon charges.

Judges take into consideration many factors, some of which include:

Weapon Enhancements


Florida’s 10-20 Life Law is a zero-tolerance approach to gun violence by increasing penalties under certain circumstances. Carrying a firearm while committing a violent offense carries a ten-year minimum sentence. Discharging a firearm during the commission of a violent offense carries a 20-year minimum sentence. When a person sustains injuries or is killed due to discharging a firearm during the commission of a violent crime, there is a 25-year minimum prison sentence.


Weapon-Related Laws are Constantly Evolving in Florida


The legal team at Myers Law Group, P.A., stays current on changes in state legislation. We recognize what is at stake for our clients, and we work towards strong defenses that raise doubts in the courtroom. Our goal is a reduction of charges or a dismissal. We meticulously investigate weapon allegations to identify weaknesses in the prosecution’s case, which can include:

  • illegal search and seizures
  • failure to inform the accused of Miranda rights
  • uncredible witness testimony for the prosecution
  • chain of custody errors of the evidence
  • prosecutorial and police misconduct


Contact the Myers Law Group, P.A. for the Best Opportunity to Avoid a Conviction


We diligently work with our clients to achieve the most favorable resolution. Our criminal defense law team is located in Deland, Florida. We represent clients in Volusia, Seminole, and Orange Counties, Florida. Call to schedule an appointment with our legal team at 386-873-7835. We are strong negotiators and are always prepared to go to trial to mitigate the impact of the charges against you.

Testimonials

Myers Law Group

Address:

211 East Rich Avenue

DeLand, FL 32724

Monday – Thursday: 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM to 1:00 PM

Phone: (386) 873-7835

×
What Our Clients Are Saying